Skip to content

Γειά! Hello! Вітаю! 你好! Selamat siang! Selam! Yadda, yadda, yadda…

September 22, 2011

Greetings one and all as I make this first blog post here. Right now. This very instant!

I have made this blog in devotion to that Thrice Greatest God, the Trickster, Traveler, Luck Giver, Guide of Souls, and Many Tounged!

Hermes!

Since becoming a Hellenist/Greco-Egyptian I have fealt the most affinity immediatly to Hermes because he embodies my passions in life, the world itself and communication. Enfact this right now is a devotion to Hermes because he is also the god of the Internet! Just think of it, millions of people over thousands of miles connected together in connecting roads of virtual and cyber information speeding across the planet at unfathomable speeds! Glorious.

So here I will devote many things to Hermes ranging from my own thoughts on the god and self created hymns to his name, but also my own thoughts on the Polytheist/Pagan movement and maybe now and then some news (I usually go to Wild Hunt to get my pagan news fix and I doubt I could ever compete with the awesomeness there).  Even if no one else is reading this, let it be my own symbolic geasture to Hermes, because I know somewhere he is, at least.

Therefore I end this opening post with a little something from the Orphic Hyms, courtesy of Theoi.com, the best source for classical e-text of Greek and Roman surviving accounts of the gods.

“Hermes, draw near, and to my pray’r incline, angel of Jove [Zeus], and Maia’s son divine;
Studious of contests, ruler of mankind, with heart almighty, and a prudent mind.
Celestial messenger, of various skill, whose pow’rful arts could watchful Argus kill:
With winged feet, ’tis thine thro’ air to course, O friend of man, and prophet of discourse:
Great life-supporter, to rejoice is thine, in arts gymnastic, and in fraud divine:
With pow’r endu’d all language to explain, of care the loos’ner, and the source of gain.
Whose hand contains of blameless peace the rod, Corucian, blessed, profitable God;
Of various speech, whose aid in works we find, and in necessities to mortals kind:
Dire weapon of the tongue, which men revere, be present, Hermes, and thy suppliant hear;
Assist my works, conclude my life with peace, give graceful speech, and me memory’s increase.”

http://www.theoi.com/Text/OrphicHymns1.html#27

Khaire

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

